Advice from the four nations on the Coronavirus pandemic

Here we take you through the latest public health guidance on what you should be doing during the Coronavirus outbreak and break this down to the specifics of each nation.

Page last reviewed: 16 July 2021

It is important to note that governments in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have each taken different approaches for their citizens, partly because they believe that the level of infection - and therefore the risk - will differ.

The appropriate authority for each country has identified key steps, we have used wording taken from each nation's official guidance below:


While cases are high and rising, everybody needs to continue to act carefully and remain cautious. This is why we are keeping in place key protections at step 4 from 19 July 2021: Find out what you can and cannot do.


Stick to the rules in your area - Scotland follows a COVID-19 levels system (0-4). Each Level has a different set of rules on what you can and cannot do.

Find out the level and rules for an area using the postcode checker.

Full information here.


From Saturday 17 July, Wales will complete the move to alert level 1: Full information here

Northern Ireland

Advice for Northern Ireland can be found here


Visit our coronavirus and mental health hub for tips on staying well during these uncertain times: coronavirus hub

The Mental Health Foundation is committed to bringing readers reliable and relevant information. All of our pages are written and regularly reviewed by our mental health experts, in line with official advice on the coronavirus outbreak.

We need your support to keep providing vital information during this time.

Please consider making a donation today