Our Trustees

Our Trustees have ultimate responsibility for the charity, its assets and activities.

We have a diverse board of Trustees who are leaders in their individual fields, who are appointed because of their commitment to mental health and their experience and skills which enable them to undertake the responsibilities of trusteeship of a professional and complex charity. They ensure we make the best use of the funds we receive and continue to carry out world-class research and activities, exclusively in pursuance of our charitable objectives. They play a vital role in ensuring the proper procedures and policies are in place to manage the charity’s resources effectively, provide long-term vision and protect our reputation and values.

Professor Dinesh Bhugra, President

Dinesh is currently Professor of Mental Health and Cultural Diversity at King’s College London and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust.

Keith Leslie, Trustee of the Mental Health Foundation, partner at Deloitte, Chairman of BuildAfrica, non-executive Director of the Tablet Publishing Company, Fellow of Windsor Leadership Trust
Keith Leslie, Chair

Keith is a partner at Deloitte LLP, Chairman of BuildAfrica, a non-executive Director of The Tablet Publishing Company and a Fellow of the Windsor Leadership Trust.

Diane Moore, Trustee

Diane is currently a Senior Advisor for the Financial Services Authority and has occupied many senior policy and managerial roles within banking.

Kay Laurie, Trustee

Kay is currently the Deputy Director of Patient Experience for Barnet and Chase Farm Hospital NHS Trust.

Douglas Blausten, Trustee

Douglas has a wide range of corporate and property experience and is Senior Partner of Cyril Leonard, a firm of Chartered Surveyors.

Dr Stephen Beyer, Trustee

Stephen is the Deputy Director of the Welsh Centre for Learning Disabilities at Cardiff University and has an extensive background in research on services for people with learning disabilities.

Adrian Stott, Trustee

Adrian was an investment banking partner at Cazenove, and has worked on helping to reduce mental health suffering with a wide range of NGOs, think tanks and researchers. He is particularly interested in mental illness prevention.

Paul R Hodgkinson CBE, Trustee

Paul Hodgkinson has been Chairman & Chief Executive of Simons Group Ltd., a privately owned construction, development and consultancy company, since 1986.

Professor David Kingdon, Trustee

David is Professor of Mental Health Care Delivery at the University of Southampton and Honorary Consultant Adult Psychiatrist for the Hampshire Partnership NHS Trust.

James O Leary, Trustee of the Mental Health Foundation, National Ankylosing Spondylosis Society NASS.
James O'Leary, Trustee

James was Head of Faculty and Senior Tutor at a large sixth form centre until 2007. He now works as a consultant, writer and trainer for the major public examination boards

Karen Jackson, Trustee

Karen is an expert in disability discrimination law and other health-related issues in employment, with particular focus on mental health. 

Stephen Park, Trustee

Stephen Park has many years’ experience as Finance Director of organisations of varying size and complexity.

Kyla Brand, Trustee

Kyla has extensive experience of policy in government and was the Office of Fair Trading’s Representative for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland until retiring in 2014.